What are the requirements for obtaining a Minnesota Permit To Carry?
If you have been considering a carry permit, you might be asking “what are the MN Permit To Carry requirements?”. The requirements for your Minnesota Permit To Carry are defined in Minnesota statute 624.714. This statute is the primary document that defines the requirements and restrictions involved with carrying a pistol in Minnesota.
To get started, you must take a Permit To Carry class in Minnesota that meets the requirement of “training in the safe use of a pistol”. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety keep a register of instructors that are approved to teach firearm training classes in Minnesota that meet the statute requirements.
Classes vary by instructor, but all approved instructors will develop their curriculum to meet the permit to carry training in Minnesota requirements. It is typical to see classes run from 3 to 4 hours and will include a live fire component.
There is an age restriction to qualify for the Minnesota Permit To Carry. You must be 21 years of age to apply for your permit. There is no maximum age restriction in the Minnesota Permit To Carry statue.
You must complete an application, The Uniform Firearm Application Permit To Carry A Pistol, and submit the completed application to the county sheriff where you live. The application is found on the Department Of Public Safety website or you can find a link to the application on the HatTrickTraining.com website. Along with the completed application, you need to provide a copy of your identification, a copy of your certificate of completion from a qualified training class, and the application fee. The fee has a defined maximum amount in the 624.714 statue, but each county sets their own fee amount. Check with your county sheriff department to see the fee for your county.
When you apply for your Minnesota Permit To Carry, your sheriff’s office will run a state level background check as well as the federal National Instant Criminal Background Check (NICS) on you. There is a long list of disqualifiers that could prevent you from being approved for your Minnesota Permit To Carry. There is also a requirement that you are not listed in the criminal gang investigation system.
Your sheriff will have 30 days to either reject or approve your application for a permit to carry. Your MN Permit To Carry card will be mailed to you once approved. Your sheriff will run the background check on a yearly basis. Although there is a 30 day limit to process your application, many sheriff offices will process application in less time.
The process to get your Minnesota Permit To Carry is simple and relatively inexpensive. If you have any questions, contact us through the HatTrickTraining.com website.